NY Committee Considering Positive Bill to Help Lost Dogs

The New York Senate Agriculture Committee is considering a bill that would amend the current laws to help identify the owners of lost dogs. Under Senate Bill 1812, which is supported by the AKC, a lost dog must be checked for all forms of identification, including tags, microchips, tattoos or licenses, within 24 hours after intake or as soon as practicable.

May 29, 2015

The New York Senate Agriculture Committee is considering a bill that would amend the current laws to help identify the owners of lost dogs. 

Under Senate Bill 1812, which is supported by the AKC, a lost dog must be checked for all forms of identification, including tags, microchips, tattoos or licenses within 24 hours after intake, or as soon as practicable.  Also, if possible, a photograph and description of the dog should be posted on the Internet, unless it is deemed better to not post if deemed appropriate to facilitate finding the owner or protect the safety of the dog. 

If the dog is identified, the owner must be notified either personally or by certified mail, and the dog must be held for seven days.  If the dog is not identified right away, it must be held for at least five days. 

What You Can Do:

Contact the members of the Senate Agriculture Committee prior to the committee hearing on Tuesday, June 2, and ask them to support Senate Bill 1812.  If you are an NY resident, click here to directly contact the committee.

The contact information for the Senate Agriculture Committee is as follows:

Sen. Patty Ritchie, Chair (Dist. 48 – Watertown/Oswego/Ogdensburg)
Phone (Albany): 315-782-3418
Phone (Watertown): 315-782-3418
Phone (Oswego):  (315) 342-2057
Phone (Ogdensburg): (315) 393-3024
E-mail: Ritchie@nysenate.gov

Sen. Leroy Comrie (Dist. 14 – Hollis)
Phone (Albany): (518) 455-2701
Phone (Hollis): 718-454-0162
E-mail: Comrie@nysenate.gov

Sen. Rich Funke (Dist. 55 – Fairport)
Phone (Albany):  (518) 455-2215
Phone (Fairport): (585) 223-1800
E-mail: Funke@nysenate.gov

Sen. Patrick Gallivan (Dist. 59 – Elma/Warsaw/Geneseo)
Phone (Albany): 518-455-3471
Phone (Elma): 716-656-8544
E-mail: gallivant@nysenate.gov

Sen. Jesse Hamilton (Dist. 20 – Brooklyn)
Phone (Albany): 518-455-2431
Phone (Brooklyn): 718-284-4700
E-mail: Hamilton@nysenate.gov

Sen. Velmanette Montgomery (Dist. 25- Brooklyn)
Phone (Albany): (518) 455-3451
Phone (Brooklyn): (718) 643-6140
E-mail: montgome@nysenate.gov

Sen. Thomas O’Mara (Dist. 58 – Bath/Elmira)
Phone (Albany): 518-455-2091
Phone (Elmira): 607-735-9671
Phone: (Bath): 607-776-3201
E-mail: omara@nysenate.gov

Sen. Marc Panepinto (Dist. 60 – Buffalo)
Phone (Albany): (518) 455-2760
Phone (Buffalo): (716) 854-8705
E-mail: Panepinto@nysenate.gov

Sen. Michael Ranzenhofer (Dist. 61 – Williamsville)
Phone (Albany): (518) 455-3161
Phone (Williamsville): (716) 631-8695 / (585) 454-0322
E-mail: ranz@senate.state.ny.us

Sen. Jose Serrano (Dist. 29- New York City)
Phone (Albany):  (518) 455-2795
Phone (NYC): (212)-828-5829
E-mail: serrano@senate.state.ny.us

Sen. James Seward (Dist. 51- Oneonta/Herkimer/Cortland)
Phone (Albany): (518) 455-3131
Phone (Oneonta): (607) 432-5524
Phone (Herkimer): (315) 866-1632
Phone (Cortland): (607) 758-9005
E-mail: seward@nysenate.gov

Sen. David Valesky (Dist. 53 – Syracuse)
Phone (Albany): (518)-455-2838
Phone (Syracuse): (315)-478-8745
E-mail: valesky@nysenate.gov

Sen. Catharine Young (Dist. 57 – Olean/Jamestown)
Phone (Albany): 518-455-3563
Phone (Olean): 716-372-4901
E-mail: cyoung@senate.state.ny.us