NC Update: SB 460 Hearing Delayed; Calls Still Needed!

Thanks to the overwhelming number of calls received by concerned North Carolinians, the House...

Thanks to the overwhelming number of calls received by concerned North Carolinians, the House Finance Committee has delayed its hearing on Senate Bill 460. It is possible the bill may be heard in committee next week instead. We will be sure to keep you informed as we learn more.  

The AKC thanks all the dedicated dog lovers who have called and emailed the committee to express concerns, but the fight is not yet over!  The delay of this bill will mobilize supporters of this bill further, so it is essential that all responsible dog owners and breeders continue to call the members of the House Finance Committee and respectfully ask them to oppose Senate Bill 460.  With your help, we can continue to successfully fight this confusing, ineffective, and costly legislation!

Read AKC’s previous Legislative Alert, which outlines the AKC’s concerns with the bill as currently written and provides a sample letter and phone script.


The contact information for the House Finance Committee is as follows:
If you send an e-mail, please also take a moment to call the Representatives.


Representative Paul Luebke (Senior Chairman)
Phone: 919-733-7663
E-mail: Paul.Luebke@ncleg.net


Representative Pryor Gibson (Chairman)
Phone: 919-715-3007
E-mail: Pryor.Gibson@ncleg.net


Representative William L. Wainwright (Chairman)
Phone: 919-733-5995
E-mail: William.Wainwright@ncleg.net


Representative Jennifer Weiss (Chairman)
Phone: 919-715-3010
E-mail: Jennifer.Weiss@ncleg.net


Representative Dewey Hill (Vice Chairman)
Phone: 919-733-5830
E-mail: Dewey.Hill@ncleg.net


Representative Hugh Holliman (Vice Chairman)
Phone: 919-715-0873
E-mail: Hugh.Holliman@ncleg.net


Representative Julia Howard (Vice Chairman)
Phone: 919-733-5904
E-mail: Julia.Howard@ncleg.net


Representative Daniel McComas (Vice Chairman)
Phone: 919-733-5786
E-mail: Danny.McComas@ncleg.net


Representative Larry Womble (Vice Chairman)
Phone: 919-733-5777
E-mail: Larry.Womble@ncleg.net


Representative Kelly M. Alexander, Jr.
Phone: 919-733-5778
E-mail: Kelly.Alexander@ncleg.net


Representative Curtis Blackwood
Phone: 919-733-2406
E-mail: Curtis.Blackwood@ncleg.net


Representative John Blust
Phone: 919-733-5781
E-mail: John.Blust@ncleg.net


Representative R. Van Braxton
Phone: 919-715-3017
E-mail: Van.Braxton@ncleg.net


Representative Becky Carney
Phone: 919-733-5827
E-mail: Becky.Carney@ncleg.net


Representative Tricia Ann Cotham
Phone: 919-715-0706
E-mail: Tricia.Cotham@ncleg.net


Representative Bill Faison
Phone: 919-715-3019
E-mail: Bill.Faison@ncleg.net


Representative Dale Folwell
Phone: 919-733-5787
E-mail: Dale.Folwell@ncleg.net


Representative Larry Hall
Phone: 919-733-5872
E-mail: Larry.Hall@ncleg.net


Representative Sandra Spaulding Hughes
Phone: 919-733-5754
E-mail: Sandra.Hughes@ncleg.net


Representative Earl Jones
Phone: 919-733-5825
E-mail: Earl.Jones@ncleg.net


Representative David Lewis
Phone: 919-715-3015
E-mail: David.Lewis@ncleg.net


Representative Darrell McCormick
Phone: 919-733-5654
E-mail: Darrell.McCormick@ncleg.net


Representative William McGee
Phone: 919-733-5747
E-mail: William.McGee@ncleg.net


Representative Bill Owens
Phone: 919-733-0010
E-mail: Bill.Owens@ncleg.net


Representative Johnathan Rhyne
Phone: 919-733-5782
E-mail: Johnathan.Rhyne@ncleg.net


Representative Deborah Ross
Phone: 919-733-5773
E-mail: Deborah.Ross@ncleg.net


Representative Mitchell Setzer
Phone: 919-733-4948
E-mail: Mitchell.Setzer@ncleg.net


Representative Paul Stam
Phone: 919-733-2962
E-mail: Paul.Stam@ncleg.net


Representative Edgar Starnes
Phone: 919-733-5931
E-mail: Edgar.Starnes@ncleg.net


Representative Thom Tillis
Phone: 919-733-5828
E-mail: Thom.Tillis@ncleg.net

 

The AKC Government Relations Department will continue to provide updated information at www.akc.org/canine_legislation. For additional information, contact the AKC's Government Relations Department at (919) 816-3720 or doglaw@akc.org.