Missouri: Support Bill to Prohibit Breed-Specific Laws, in Committee Tomorrow (2/22)

The Missouri House Local Government Committee will consider a bill tomorrow (Wednesday, February 22), that seeks to protect the rights of responsible dog owners in Missouri by prohibiting municipalities from enacting breed-specific policies. All who reside or participate in dog events in Missouri are encouraged to contact the House Local Government Committee in support of House Bill 905

The Missouri House Local Government Committee will consider a bill tomorrow (Wednesday, February 22), that seeks to protect the rights of responsible dog owners in Missouri by prohibiting municipalities from enacting breed-specific policies.  It would also void any current local breed-specific policies or regulations in the state.  

Municipalities would still be permitted to protect public health and safety by enacting other policies (including policies for at-large dogs), so long as these laws do not target specific breeds. 

All who reside or participate in dog events in Missouri are encouraged to contact the House Local Government Committee prior to tomorrow’s hearing and ask them to support House Bill 905.

Talking Points:

The AKC supports House Bill 905, which protects the rights of dog owners while still allowing communities to enact laws that hold all owners accountable.  Seventeen states currently have laws that prohibit breed-specific legislation.  Visit the Breed-Specific/Dangerous Dog Laws page in the AKC Legislative Action Center for more talking points on this issue.

What You Can Do:

All who reside or participate in dog events in Missouri are encouraged to contact the House Local Government Committee prior to tomorrow’s hearing and ask them to support House Bill 905:

Rep. Lyndall Fraker (Chair)
Phone:  573-751-3819
E-Mail:  Lyndall.Fraker@house.mo.gov

Rep. Tom Hannegan (Vice Chair)
Phone:  573-751-3717
E-Mail:  Tom.Hannegan@house.mo.gov

Rep. Joe Adams (Ranking Minority Member)
Phone:  573-751-4265
E-Mail:  Joe.Adams@house.mo.gov

Rep. Donna Baringer
Phone:  573-751-4220
E-Mail:  Donna.Baringer@house.mo.gov

Rep. Rick Brattin
Phone:  573-751-3783
E-Mail:  Rick.Brattin@house.mo.gov

Rep. Ingrid Burnett
Phone:  573-751-3310
E-Mail:  Ingrid.Burnett@house.mo.gov

Rep. Derek Grier
Phone:  573-751-9765
E-Mail:  Derek.Grier@house.mo.gov

Rep. Jay Houghton
Phone:  573-751-3649
E-Mail:  Jay.Houghton@house.mo.gov

Rep. John McCaherty
Phone:  573-751-3751
E-Mail:  John.McCaherty@house.mo.gov

Rep. Dave Muntzel
Phone:  573-751-0169
E-Mail:  Dave.Muntzel@house.mo.gov

Rep. Rob Vescovo
Phone:  573-751-3607
E-Mail:  Rob.Vescovo@house.mo.gov

Rep. Fred Wessels
Phone:  573-751-0438
E-Mail:  Fred.Wessels@house.mo.gov

Rep. Kenneth Wilson
Phone:  573-751-9760
E-Mail:  Ken.Wilson@house.mo.gov

AKC Government Relations will continue to closely monitor this legislation and provide more information as it becomes available.  For questions or more information, contact AKC GR at (919) 816-3720 or doglaw@akc.org.

AKC Most Popular
Dog Names
Female puppy Male puppy