Massachusetts Commercial Breeder Bill Proposed

Massachusetts fanciers have reported that Rep. Paul Kujawski has once again proposed legislation...

Massachusetts fanciers have reported that Rep. Paul Kujawski has once again proposed legislation (H1346) that defines anyone who breeds and sells more than one litter per year as a commercial breeder. Such individuals would further be subject to licensing and inspection.

What You Can Do:

  • The Joint Committee on Environment, Natural Resources and Agriculture has scheduled a hearing on H1346 for June 20th at the Sunderland Public Library, 20 School Street, Sunderland at 1 p.m. (413-665-2642). It is critical that large numbers of fanciers attend and express their opposition! Please contact the Massachusetts Federation of Dog Clubs (Blackslate@aol.com) to obtain directions and let them know you plan on attending.

  • If you cannot attend the hearing, please contact members of the committee and voice your opposition. Your voice is especially important if one of your representatives sits on the committee. Find out who represents you in the Massachusetts legislature.

 

Joint Committee on Environment, Natural Resources and Agriculture.
Chair Sen. Pam Resor
State House, Room 410, Boston, MA 02133
Telephone: (617) 722-1120
Fax: (617) 722-1089
Pamela.Resor@state.ma.us


Sen. Marc Pacheco
State House, Room 312-B, Boston, MA 02133
Telephone: (617) 722-1551
Marc.Pacheco@state.ma.us


Sen. Stephen Brewer
State House, Room 109-B, Boston, MA 02133
Telephone: (617) 722-1540
Stephen.Brewer@state.ma.us


Sen. Robert Creedon
State House, Room 413-C, Boston, MA 02133
Telephone: (617) 722-1200
Robert.Creedon@state.ma.us


Sen. Robert O'Leary
State House, Room 416-A, Boston, MA 02133
Telephone: (617) 722-1570
Fax: (617) 722-1271
ROleary@senate.state.ma.us


Sen. Bruce Tarr
State House, Room 313-A, Boston, MA 02133
Telephone: (617) 722-1600
Bruce.Tarr@state.ma.us


Rep. Frank Smizik
State House, Rm 33, 617-722-2060
Fax 617-722-2846
Rep.FrankSmizik@hou.state.ma.us
Frank.Smizik@verizon.net


Rep. Stephen Kulik
State House Rm 279, Boston, MA 02133
Telephone: 617-722-2210 413-772-2727
Fax: 617-722-2821
Rep.StephenKulik@hou.state.ma.us


Rep. Douglas Petersen
State House, Rm. 544
Boston, MA 02133
Telephone: 617-722-2637
Fax:: 617-722-2922
Rep.DouglasPetersen@hou.state.ma.us


Rep. William Straus
State House, Rm. 26
Boston, MA 02133
Telephone: 617-722-2080
State House E-Mail: Rep.WilliamStraus@hou.state.ma.us
Other E-Mail: rep.straus@verizon.net


Rep. Anne Gobi
State House Rm. 146
Boston, MA 02133 Telephone: 617-722-2575
Rep.AnneGobi@hou.state.ma.us

Rep. Matthew Patrick
State House, Rm. 540
Boston, MA 02133
617-722-2090, fax 617-722-2848
Rep.MatthewPatrick@hou.state.ma.us
repmattp@cape.com


Rep. Peter Kocot
State House, Rm. 146
Boston, MA 02133
Tel: (617) 722-2575
Rep.PeterKocot@hou.state.ma.us


Rep. Michael Rush
State House Rm. 437, Boston, MA 02133
Telephone: 617-722-2460
Rep.MikeRush@hou.state.ma.us


Rep. Dennis Guyer
State House, Rm. 134, Boston, MA 02133
617-722-2400
Rep.DenisGuyer@Hou.State.MA.US


Rep. Susan Gifford
State House Rm. 540, Boston, MA 02133
Telephone: 617-722-2090
Fax: 617-722-2848
Rep.SusanGifford@hou.state.ma.us


Rep. Donald Humason
State House, Rm, 443, Boston, MA 02133
Telephone: 617-722-2460, 413-568-1366
Fax: 617-722-2390
Rep.DonaldHumason@hou.state.ma.us

 

For more information, contact:

Massachusetts Federation of Dog Clubs and Responsible Dog Owners
www.massfeddogs.org
Blackslate@aol.com
cmcgowan2@comcast.net

AKC's Canine Legislation department
919-816-3720, doglaw@akc.org