Ask Delaware Committee to Support a Prohibition on Breed-Specific Laws

The Delaware House Health and Human Development Committee will consider a bill tomorrow (Wednesday, March 15), that would protect the rights of responsible Delaware dog owners by prohibiting any dog from being declared “potentially dangerous” or “dangerous” under state law simply based on the dog’s breed.

The Delaware House Health and Human Development Committee will consider a bill tomorrow (Wednesday, March 15), that would protect the rights of responsible Delaware dog owners by prohibiting any dog from being declared “potentially dangerous” or “dangerous” under state law simply based on the dog’s breed.   The bill would also prohibit municipalities from enacting laws or regulations based on a dog’s breed. 

Talking Points:

The AKC supports House Bill 13, which protects the rights of dog owners while still allowing communities to enact laws that hold all owners accountable.  Seventeen states currently have laws that prohibit breed-specific legislation.  Visit the Breed-Specific/Dangerous Dog Laws page in the AKC Legislative Action Center for more talking points on this issue.

What You Can Do:

AKC urges all who reside or participate in dog events in Delaware to contact the House Local Government Committee prior to tomorrow’s hearing and ask them to support House Bill 13:

Rep. David Bentz (Chairman)
302-744-4351
David.Bentz@state.de.us

Rep. Debra Heffernan (Vice-Chair)
302-744-4351
Debra.Heffernan@state.de.us

Rep. Paul S. Baumbach
(302) 744-4351
Paul.Baumbach@state.de.us

Rep. Sean Matthews
302-744-4351
Sean.Matthews@state.de.us

Rep. Earl G. Jaques, Jr.
302-744-4142
Earl.Jaques@state.de.us

Rep. John A. Kowalko
302-744-4351
John.Kowalko@state.de.us

Rep. Sean M. Lynn
302-744-4351
Sean.Lynn@state.de.us

Rep. Kimberly Williams
302-744-4351
Kimberly.Williams@state.de.us

Rep. Joseph E. Miro
302-744-4171
Joseph.Miro@state.de.us

Rep. Ruth Briggs-King
302-744-4251
Ruth.BriggsKing@state.de.us

Rep. Harvey R. Kenton
302-744-4171
Harvey.Kenton@state.de.us

Rep. Kevin S. Hensley
302-744-4171
Kevin.Hensley@state.de.us

Rep. Lyndon D. Yearick
302-744-4171
Lyndon.Yearick@state.de.us

Rep. Edward S. Osienski
302-744-4351
Edward.Osienski@state.de.us

AKC Government Relations will continue to closely monitor this legislation and provide more information as it becomes available.  For questions or more information, contact AKC GR at (919) 816-3720 or doglaw@akc.org

Comment & Discuss

AKC Most Popular
Dog Names

Female puppy Male puppy