Connecticut SB 274 Would Find Many Dog Enclosures ‘Unreasonable’

The Joint Committee on the Environment will hear Senate Bill 274, this Monday, March 8. As...

The Joint Committee on the Environment will hear Senate Bill 274, this Monday, March 8. As currently written, this bill would prohibit as “unreasonable” the tethering of dogs and the use of primary dog enclosures smaller than 100 square feet.

The American Kennel Club is concerned by the strict requirements and the current wording of the bill, which could place a hardship on many families and their pets.

The AKC encourages all concerned dog owners and breeders in Connecticut to contact their legislators and the Joint Committee on the Environment, and urge them to address their concerns.

Under the current provision of SB 274, a person would be considered to have confined a dog in an unreasonable manner if one dog were kept in an enclosure that smaller than one hundred square feet of space if that is the primary location where the dog eats, drinks, sleeps and eliminates waste. The space requirement would increase by 50 square feet for every additional dog kept in the enclosure.

The American Kennel Club strongly supports humane treatment of dogs, including an adequate and nutritious diet, clean water, clean living conditions, regular veterinary care, kind and responsive human companionship, and training in appropriate behavior. The AKC supports reasonable and enforceable laws that protect the welfare and health of purebred dogs and do not restrict the rights of breeders and owners who take their responsibilities seriously.

While laudable for the goal of ensuring the wellbeing of dogs, engineering-based standards such as those required in SB 274, are often unreasonably costly and difficult for individuals to comply with. This measure does not take into consideration the time a dog spends outside its primary enclosure for exercise and other enrichment. Additionally, these standards do not take into account the size of the dog kept in the enclosure. Whereas it may be appropriate for the owner of a Great Dane to keep one dog in 100 square feet of space, the same requirements should not necessary for the owners of a single Chihuahua, which because of its small size, needs less space.

The AKC recommends that performance-based standards (such as requiring owners to provide sufficient space in a primary enclosure for a dog to turn, stand, and lie down) are more reasonable, less costly, and easier for individuals to comply with.

The Connecticut Dog Federation also opposes SB 274.  For their position statement, please click here.

WHAT YOU CAN DO:

Concerned responsible owners in Connecticut are urged to contact their legislators and the members of the Joint Committee on the Environment, who will consider this bill on Monday, March 8th, at 10:30 AM in Room 1D of the Legislative Office Building, 300 Capitol Ave., Hartford. Respectfully urge them not to move the bill forward without addressing the unreasonable provision in SB 274.

To find your Connecticut legislators, click here.

Members of the Connecticut General Assembly Joint Environment Committee:
Committee Address: Room 3200, Legislative Office Building, Hartford, CT 06106. Phone: 860-240-0440

Senator Edward Meyer, Co-Chair
Phone: 860-240-0455
Meyer@senatedems.ct.gov

Representative Richard Roy, Co-Chair
Phone: (860) 240-8585
Richard.Roy@cga.ct.gov

Senator Andrew M. Maynard, Vice Chair
Phone: (860) 240-0584
Maynard@senatedems.ct.gov

Representative Bryan Hurlburt, Vice Chair
Phone: (860) 240-8585
Bryan.Hurlburt@cga.ct.gov

Senator John McKinney, Ranking Member
Phone: (860) 240-8805
John.McKinney@cga.ct.gov

Representative Clark, J. Chapin, Ranking Member
Phone: (860) 240-8700
Click here for an e-mail form to contact Representative Chapin.

Representative Terry Backer
Phone: (860) 240-8585
Terry.Backer@cga.ct.gov

Representative Beth Bye
(860) 240-8585
Beth.Bye@cga.ct.gov

Representative Fred Camillo
Phone: (860) 240-8700
Click here for an e-mail form to contact Representative Camillo.

Representative Theresa W. Conroy
Phone: (860) 240-8585
Theresa.Conroy@cga.ct.gov

Representative Paul Davis
Phone: (860) 240-8585
Paul.Davis@cga.ct.gov

Senator Donald J. DeFronzo
Phone: (860) 240-0595
DeFronzo@senatedems.ct.gov

Representative Steve Fontana
Phone: (860) 240-0514
Steve.Fontana@cga.ct.gov

Representative John (Jack) F. Hennessy
Phone: (860) 240-8585
Jack.Jennessy@cga.ct.gov

Representative Maryanne Hornish
Phone: (860) 240-8585
Maryanne.Hornish@cga.ct.gov

Representative Ed Jutila
Phone: (860) 240-8585
Ed.Jutila@cga.ct.gov

Representative Thomas J. Kehoe
Phone: (860) 240-8585
Thomas.J.Kehoe@cga.ct.gov

Representative Barbara L. Lambert
Phone: (860) 240-8585
Barbara.Lambert@cga.ct.gov

Representative David McCluskey
Phone: (860) 240-8585
David.McCluskey@cga.ct.gov

Representative Lawrence G. Miller
Phone: (860) 240-8700
Click here for an e-mail form to contact Representative Miller.

Representative Craig A Miner
Phone: (860) 240-8700
Click here for an e-mail form to contact Representative Miner.

Representative Edward E. Moukawsher
Phone: (860) 240-8585
Edward.Moukawsher@cga.ct.gov

Representative Mary M. Mushinsky
Phone: (860) 240-8585
Mary.Mushinsky@cga.ct.gov

Representative James A. O’Rourke
Phone: (860) 240-8585
Jim.ORourke@cga.ct.gov

Representative Jason Perillo
Phone: (860) 240-8700
Click here for an e-mail form to contact Representative Perillo.

Representative John E. Piscopo
Phone: (860) 240-8700
Click here for an e-mail form to contact Representative Piscopo.

Senator Andrew W. Roraback
Phone: (860) 489-6880
Andrew.Roraback@cga.ct.gov

Representative James Field Spallone
Phone: (860) 240-8585
James.Spallone@cga.ct.gov

Representative Diana S. Urban
Phone: (860) 240-8585
Diana.Urban@cga.ct.gov

Representative Roberta B. Willis
Phone: (860) 240-8585
Roberta.Willis@cga.ct.gov

Representative Terrie Wood
Phone: (860) 240-8700
Click here for an e-mail form to contact Representative Wood.

For information on Communicating Effectively with Your Legislators, click here.

For more information, contact AKC’s Government Relations Department at (919) 816-3720, or e-mail doglaw@akc.org.