Arkansas Hearing Tomorrow (3/3) on Bill to Regulate Dog Sales

A bill was just scheduled for a hearing tomorrow (Friday, March 3) in Arkansas that would require registration of anyone who sells or offers a dog for sale in the state and advertises through “public media” (any way that does not involve in-person or direct contact with a customer). This includes periodicals, professional directories, and social media.

A bill was just scheduled for a hearing tomorrow (Friday, March 3) in Arkansas that would require registration of anyone who sells or offers a dog for sale in the state and advertises through “public media” (any way that does not involve in-person or direct contact with a customer).  This includes periodicals, professional directories, and social media. 

Any person meeting these criteria must first register with the Department of Health each year.  While the bill says the registration fee will be “reasonable”, it does not say what the fee will be or provide any limit on the cost. 

The bill also defines “hobby breeder” as any person who owns one dog or cat, and states that should they wish to sell a dog their registration fee will be “minimal”.  The AKC is concerned about this broad definition of hobby breeder being placed in law, and the potential for further regulations in the future on anyone who owns a dog in the state.  Further, while the fee will be “minimal”, the bill does not provide an amount. 

This new program will be funded through grants made by the federal government or “any person”, as well as registration fees.  Without any amounts or limits on fees listed in the bill, there is the potential for the fees to continue to increase in order to support the program. 

Dog owners and breeders in Arkansas are encouraged to contact the House Agriculture, Forestry and Economic Development Committee TODAY to express concerns with House Bill 1717:

Rep. Dan M. Douglas (Chair)
479-619-9231
dan-douglas@sbcglobal.net

Rep. David Hillman (Vice-Chair)
870-830-3004
dhillman@futura.net

Rep. Fred Allen
501-804-7844
fredallen99@comcast.net

Rep. Scott Baltz
870-378-1380
scottbaltz@yahoo.com

Rep. Rick Beck
501-912-1441
rick.beck@arkansashouse.org

Rep. Mary Bentley
501-889-3556
mary.bentley@arkansashouse.org 

Rep. Ken Bragg
870-917-9205
kenwbragg@gmail.com

Rep. David L. Branscum
870-448-6290
davidlbranscum@hotmail.com

Rep. Karilyn Brown
501-580-9000
karilyn.brown@arkansashouse.org

Rep. Bruce Cozart
501-627-3232
bccci@cablelynx.com

Rep. Jack Fortner
870-656-7664
jack.fortner@arkansashouse.org

Rep. Lane Jean
870-904-1856
l_jean@sbcglobal.net

Rep. Stephen Magie
501-327-4444
stephen.magie@arkansashouse.org

Rep. Mark D. McElroy
870-644-3822
mdmcelroy1@yahoo.com

Rep. Ron McNair
870-754-7962
rmcnair1950@gmail.com

Rep. Stephen Meeks
501-314-9250
Stephen.Meeks@arkansashouse.org

Rep. Mathew W. Pitsch
479-883-2072
mathew.pitsch@cox.net

Rep. Matthew J. Shepherd
870-862-2087
matthew.shepherd@arkansashouse.org

Rep. Dan Sullivan
870-275-2929
dan.sullivan@arkansashouse.org

Rep. David Whitaker
479-236-8313
david.whitaker@arkansashouse.org

AKC will continue to closely monitor this legislation.  For more information, contact doglaw@akc.org.  

AKC Most Popular
Dog Names
Female puppy Male puppy