Arkansas: Two Bills Regulating Dog Breeders/Sellers Are in Committee TOMORROW (3/17)

Two bills that seek to regulate dog breeders and sellers are on the agenda for the Arkansas House Agriculture, Forestry and Economic Development Committee TOMORROW, March 17, 2017.

Two bills that seek to regulate dog breeders and sellers are on the agenda for the Arkansas House Agriculture, Forestry and Economic Development Committee TOMORROW, March 17, 2017.

Dog owners and breeders in Arkansas are encouraged to contact members of the House Agriculture, Forestry and Economic Development Committee TODAY to respectfully express concerns with both House Bill 1715 and House Bill 1717.  Please scroll down for contact information.

House Bill 1717, which has been deferred by the committee in previous meetings, seeks to require registration of every person who sells or offers to sell one dog in the state and advertises through “public media”.  Read AKC’s March 2nd alert about HB 1717.

House Bill 1715 seeks to establish regulations, inspections and fees for persons who own 5 or more female dogs capable of breeding and who annually sell 20 or more puppies raised on the premises. This bill would also regulate animal control agencies, shelters, rescue caregivers, and USDA licensed breeders; and would establish consumer protection provisions for dog purchasers.

Under HB 1715, the county sheriff in each county would establish operating standards and recordkeeping requirements for registrants, oversee inspections (which may be conducted by a veterinarian), and enforce these provisions. This would result in 75 different sets of rules and requirements for dog breeders, shelters, and rescue caregivers in the state.

Further, HB 1715 contains numerous undefined terms and requirements. Although the American Kennel Club (AKC) commends the sponsor for seeking to establish oversight of all persons and organizations that engage in the large-scale sales and transfers of dogs in Arkansas, we have significant concerns about HB 1715.

Please contact the members of the House Agriculture, Forestry and Economic Development Committee TODAY and respectfully express your concerns with HB 1715 and HB 1717.  See contact information, below.

You may also wish to attend the committee meeting on March 17, 2017 9:00 a.m., Room 138, State Capitol Little Rock, Arkansas.

Rep. Dan M. Douglas (Chair)
479-619-9231
dan-douglas@sbcglobal.net

Rep. David Hillman (Vice-Chair)
870-830-3004
dhillman@futura.net

Rep. Fred Allen
501-804-7844
fredallen99@comcast.net

Rep. Scott Baltz
870-378-1380
scottbaltz@yahoo.com

Rep. Rick Beck
501-912-1441
rick.beck@arkansashouse.org

Rep. Mary Bentley
501-889-3556
mary.bentley@arkansashouse.org

Rep. Ken Bragg
870-917-9205
kenwbragg@gmail.com

Rep. David L. Branscum
870-448-6290
davidlbranscum@hotmail.com

Rep. Karilyn Brown
501-580-9000
karilyn.brown@arkansashouse.org

Rep. Bruce Cozart
501-627-3232
bccci@cablelynx.com

Rep. Jack Fortner
870-656-7664
jack.fortner@arkansashouse.org

Rep. Lane Jean
870-904-1856
l_jean@sbcglobal.net

Rep. Stephen Magie
501-327-4444
stephen.magie@arkansashouse.org

Rep. Mark D. McElroy
870-644-3822
mdmcelroy1@yahoo.com

Rep. Ron McNair
870-754-7962
rmcnair1950@gmail.com

Rep. Stephen Meeks
501-314-9250
Stephen.Meeks@arkansashouse.org

Rep. Mathew W. Pitsch
479-883-2072
mathew.pitsch@cox.net

Rep. Matthew J. Shepherd
870-862-2087
matthew.shepherd@arkansashouse.org

Rep. Dan Sullivan
870-275-2929
dan.sullivan@arkansashouse.org

Rep. David Whitaker
479-236-8313
david.whitaker@arkansashouse.org

AKC will continue to closely monitor this legislation. For more information, contact doglaw@akc.org

AKC Most Popular
Dog Names
Female puppy Male puppy