Arkansas: Regulations for Breeders Who Sell ONE Dog & Owners of 4 Females on Agenda Tomorrow (3/29)

An amended version of Arkansas House Bill 1717 is again on the agenda of the House Agriculture, Forestry and Economic Development Committee for tomorrow, March 29. Among other provisions, this bill would require breeders who offer for sale one dog or cat through public media to register with, pay fees, and submit information to the Arkansas Agriculture Department.

An amended version of Arkansas House Bill 1717 is again on the agenda of the House Agriculture, Forestry and Economic Development Committee for tomorrow, March 29.  Among other provisions, this bill would require breeders who offer for sale one dog or cat through public media to register with, pay fees, and submit information to the Arkansas Agriculture Department. 

The names and registration numbers of “registered sellers” would be posted on the Agriculture Department website. Failure to register would be a Class C misdemeanor subject to a fine of up to $500 and imprisonment for up to 30 days. 

Dog owners and breeders in Arkansas are encouraged to contact the House Agriculture, Forestry and Economic Development Committee to express concerns with House Bill 1717. Please scroll down for contact information.

HB 1717 would define a “commercial breeder” as a person who owns more than three female dogs OR cats “for the purpose of breeding.”  The registration fee for a “commercial breeder” would be $100 per year for registration as a seller. The AKC believes that dog breeders should not be regulated based on the number of dogs owned, as this does not necessarily indicate commercial activity.  Also, many dog owners who were designated as “commercial breeders” based on their ownership of four female dogs would be out of compliance with their local zoning codes.

HB 1717 would also define a “casual breeder” as a person who owns up to three female dogs OR cats “for the purpose of breeding” and who allows only one breeding per dog or cat per calendar year. This would include any person who breeds and sells a single pet. The registration fee for a “casual breeder” would be $25 per year for registration as a seller.

Only “casual breeders” and “commercial breeders” would be considered “sellers” under HB 1717.  Dog and cat sellers who are not breeders, animal shelters, humane associations, and those involved in greyhound racing would receive exemptions. 

Please immediately contact the members of the House Agriculture, Forestry and Economic Development Committee to express your concerns.  See contact information below.

Meeting Information and Agenda:

House Agriculture, Forestry and Economic Development Committee

March 29, 2017, 10:00 AM

Room 138, State Capitol

Little Rock, Arkansas

Committee Member Contact Information:


Rep. Dan M. Douglas (Chair)
479-619-9231
dan-douglas@sbcglobal.net

Rep. David Hillman (Vice-Chair)
870-830-3004
dhillman@futura.net

Rep. Fred Allen
501-804-7844
fredallen99@comcast.net

Rep. Scott Baltz
870-378-1380
scottbaltz@yahoo.com

Rep. Rick Beck
501-912-1441
rick.beck@arkansashouse.org

Rep. Mary Bentley
501-889-3556
mary.bentley@arkansashouse.org

Rep. Ken Bragg
870-917-9205
kenwbragg@gmail.com

Rep. David L. Branscum
870-448-6290
davidlbranscum@hotmail.com

Rep. Karilyn Brown
501-580-9000
karilyn.brown@arkansashouse.org

Rep. Bruce Cozart
501-627-3232
bccci@cablelynx.com

Rep. Jack Fortner
870-656-7664
jack.fortner@arkansashouse.org

Rep. Lane Jean
870-904-1856
l_jean@sbcglobal.net

Rep. Stephen Magie
501-327-4444
stephen.magie@arkansashouse.org

Rep. Mark D. McElroy
870-644-3822
mdmcelroy1@yahoo.com

Rep. Ron McNair
870-754-7962
rmcnair1950@gmail.com

Rep. Stephen Meeks
501-314-9250
Stephen.Meeks@arkansashouse.org

Rep. Mathew W. Pitsch
479-883-2072
mathew.pitsch@cox.net

Rep. Matthew J. Shepherd
870-862-2087
matthew.shepherd@arkansashouse.org

Rep. Dan Sullivan
870-275-2929
dan.sullivan@arkansashouse.org

Rep. David Whitaker
479-236-8313
david.whitaker@arkansashouse.org

For more information, please contact AKC Government Relations at pvs@akc.org or call 919-816-3645.