Pointing Breed Field Trials

The Fourteenth Annual American Kennel Club Pointing Breed Gun Dog Championship

The Nebraska Field Trial Association hosted the 2007 renewal of the AKC Gun Dog Championship Field Trial at the Branched Oak Field Trial Grounds near Lincoln, NE. The well organized event was led by Co-Chairmen Larry Voelks and Don Bergmeyer and Field Trial Secretary Tom Maneely. There are two Championship stakes - A Retrieving Championship, which started on Monday April 2, and a Non-Retrieving Championship, which commenced on Saturday, April 7. Judges for the Retrieving Championship were Steve Short from Alberta, Canada and Jack Higgins from Nebraska. Performing the judicial duties for the Non-Retrieving Championship were Chuck Parietti from Missouri and Joe Luisi from New Jersey. Stake Managers for the Retrieving Championship were Mike Zimbelman and Don Bergmeyer. Tom Lococo kept things organized in the Non-Retrieving Championship. 73 dogs were entered in the Retrieving Championship and 83 hopefuls entered the Non-Retrieving Championship. The Championship events are open to all pointing dog breeds.

Winners in the Retrieving Championship
Kneeling left to right: Dave Pomfret with the Champion, NGDC/FC Echo's Little Bit of Clown (Bitty); Dave Walker with FC/AFC Palm Glade's Shameless Sally (Sally); Katie Tazza with DC/AFC Up N' Adams Super Sioux, CD SH (Sioux) and Jan Erbe with FC/AFC Erbe's Fireginger (Ginger). Standing L to R: Ray Dohse (handler), Ed Moody (owner), Doug Hess (judges marshal); Judges Steve Short and Jack Higgins; Roy Pelton (Purina field rep) and Bob Erbe (handler).

Of particular note is that this is a repeat win for NGDC/FC Echo's Little Bit of Clown. Bitty won this same honor in 2006 when the Championship was held in Virginia. She is proudly owned by Ed and Trudy Moody of Flora, MS. Bitty is trained, handled and loved by Ray Dohse, professional from Georgia. The announcement of her 2007 win came as no surprise to those who watched the entire event. With a focused, intelligent and strong race, plus excellent intensity and manners on five finds, she was nothing short of remarkable.

Winners in the Non-Retrieving Championship
Kneeling left to right: John Rabidou with FC Uodibar's Glitter N' Gold; G.F. Henry and Art Armburst with WVK Max; Liz and Greg Dixon with NFC/DC Backwoods Sure Shot's Marley; Julie La Rue with FC Lucy De Laredo.. Standing: Joe Luisi (judge), Bonnie Hidalgo (scribe & AKC field rep), Chuck Parietti (judge), Tom Lococo (stake manager), Greg Schnekloth.