Beagle Field Trials

The 2010 AKC SPO National Championship

Reported by Beverley Cross,

The 2010 AKC SPO National Championship enjoyed beautiful weather and a record number of entries. FTS Ann Hoagland reports a total of 326 hounds entered. It was the first year for the Nationals to be hosted at the new UBGF running grounds in Morgantown, Kentucky. Many beaglers commented that with the weather, location, and number of entries, it was all around the best year ever for the trial. With 218 acres and 3 enclosures, what a perfect place for a National Championship!

Beginning on Friday morning April 16, the 13–inch Female Class had 82 entries, and the 15–inch Female class had 72. Saturday's classes were also large with 90 little males and 82 15–inch males! A light rain the night before made the grounds just right for running, and there was no lack of game. After some tough competition and the judges' careful consideration, the following hounds placed First through NBQ:

13" Females – 82 Entries
Judges – Jerry Gillian – UBGF & Dr. Arin Woos – NEGF
1st – Mill Creek Kyler, John Phillips,Gleason,Tn
2nd – FC G's Line Taco Belle, Jim & Karen Girafalco, Downingtown,PA
3rd – Lowe Valley Tracking Trecka,Tim Shultz, Seveierville,TN
4th – FC Williams Run–em Hot Silky Silk, Jesse W Williams, McCall, SC
NBQ – Rose Run Lucky Lady, Jay Lane, Marion, NC

15" Females – 72 Entries
Judges – Rob Kane III – NEGF & Lynn Huston – UBGF
1st – FC Lewis Tuff–E–Nuff Ivy, Jeffery T Lewis, Brookhaven, MS
2nd – NSPO FC Ted's Tina Leigh,Teddy w Adkins, Hamilton, OH
3rd – FC Syoney Creeks Gracie,Travis Purvis, Ocilla, GA
4th – Buck's Branch Cathy Lee, Les Blondino, Madison Heights, VA
NBQ – FC Flint Hill Jannie II,Tommy Lawrence, Cedartown, GA

13" Males – 90 Entries
Judges – Scottie Pannel – DSGF & Steve Estevez – MABF
1st – Rapid Run Lil Cowboy Casanova, Bob Peters, Bellville,OH
2nd – FC Ready–to–Run Smokey, Gregory Nichols,Tallulah, MS
3rd – FF Templet's Rio, Harvey Templet, Gonzales,LA
4th – FC Morewater Otis Odie,Travis Still, Blackville, SC
NBQ – FC Ben's Mississippi T–Bone, Brad Ward, Pontotoc, MS

15" Males – 82 Entries
Judges – Jason Potts – UBGF & Wayne Martin – DSGF
1st – FC Narrons Cadalac Jack, Jesse M Williams, McColl, SC
2nd – FC tcs Copper, Tommy Pollard, New Iberia, LA
3rd – FC Chicken On A Chain, Robert Gibson, Sikeston, MO
4th – FC No Limit Blaze, Red Forsyth, Rockmart, Ga
NBQ – NSP,FC Windsong Raider,Tim Barber, Picayune, MS

In addition to their unmatched sponsorship of the trial, our good friends at Nestle Purina enhance this prestigious AKC event by hosting a banquet for all trial attendees. After the wonderful meal, they present their Top Ten awards for the prior year. The awards go to the beagles that were high–scoring in their class at AKC Licensed trials that also designated as Top Ten trials. The winners for the 2009 period are as follows:

15" Male Winner, FC Elder's Rebel Run Major
Owner John Elder of Tarentum, PA

13" Male Winner, FC Kachinka Hollow Sonorous Ebon
Owner Albert West of Berwick, PA 

15" Female Winner, FC Lone Willow Tiarae Hanna
Josh Herring, Valley View, PA 

13" Female and and Overall Winner, FC G's Line Taco Belle
Jim Girafalco of Downington, PA

Another much–anticipated event held each year at the Nationals is the induction of new SPO Hall of Fame members, sponsored by Hound & Hunting magazine. The members are nominated by their peers and then elected by the magazine’s readership. This year the following hounds and Beaglers were inducted:

Gary Hanks, Texas
Jesse Yates, Alabama
FC Canoe Creek Dominoe, Chester Berry
NSPC, FC Postoak Little Nip Otis, Jason Taylor

Click on image for larger view.

For some sights and sounds in the field, check out this YouTube video.