Beagle Field Trials

Beagle Field Trials

2007 AKC SPO National Championship
Reported by Beverley Cross (Editor - North American Beagle)

It was a rainy weekend in Owensboro, KY where the 2007 AKC Small Pack Option National Championship trial was held, but it didn’t seem to keep the beaglers away. The host club had a shuttle system in place to get the classes to the field and back, which really helped to keep the trial moving. The hounds didn’t mind the rain either, and there was good running in all classes.

Nestle Purina did an excellent job sponsoring the Awards dinner on Friday night, and two more beaglers were inducted into the Hounds & Hunting SPO Hall of Fame, Ronnie Kilgore and Wayne Thompson. Eric Mahan won the Purina Top Hound award with FC Willie’s Double Copper Penny. Saturday’s running saw a sunnier day, but the John Deere “shuttle” was kept on stand-by just the same.

Congratulations to all who won or placed:

13" Females – Judges David Owen (UBGF) Gary Hanks (Lone Star):

1st-More Water Splish Splash - Owner(s)/Handler: Randy Snap
2nd-F.C. Star R Hay Foxy - Owner(s)/Handler: Rick McDonald and Terry Ray
3rd-Circle DR's Good Golly Ms. Molly - Owner(s)/Handler: David Frank
4th-F.C. Dogwood J-Lo - Owner(s)/Handler: Raven Decaise/Don Peterson
NBQ-F.C. Cypress Swamp Ashley - Owner(s)/Handler: Steve Poirier

13" Males – Judges Darian Archie (UBGF) Edgar Burdette (NEBGF)

1st-F.C. Twin Maples Reds - Owner(s)/Handler: Todd Seitz
2nd-F.C. Choptalk Bold Creek Billy B - Owner(s)/Hanlder: Sam Butler and Keith Burges/Nicky Pinson
3rd: F.C. Gilkey's Black Jack - Owner(s)/Handler: William Parton and Nicky Pinson/Nicky Pinson
4th-F.C. Woodhavens Hot Rod - Owner(s)/Handler: Dan McGee
NBQ-F.C. Northsides Robo - Owner(s)/Handler: Cliff Rankin

15" Females - Judges Art Clay (UBGF) Mark Malloy (NEBGF)

1st-F.C. Goodwater Blue By You - Owner(s)/Handler: James R. Snell
2nd-King Hill Little Becky - Owner(s)/Handler: John Herring
3rd-Cockie Bur's Revival - Owner(s)/Handler: Jerry W. Newman
4th-Russell Creek Amazing Grace - Owner(s)/Handler: Debbie and Fred Scheetz
NBQ: F.C. Ted's On-Line Shania - Owner(s)/Handler: Teddy Adkins

15" Males – Judges Steve Poirer (DSBGF) Johnny Kendricks (Mid-Atlantic)

1st- Huff's Riverland Charter - Owner(s)/Handler: Jim Campbell
2nd-F.C. One Ways Online Justice - Owner(s)/Handler: Stan Keely Jr.
3rd-Chamo Negro - Owner(s)/Handler: Ronny Britt
4th-Payton's Floppy Joe - Owner(s)/Handler: Charles Tuder
NBQ: F.C. S&D's Chief Choctall - Owner(s)/Handler: David Kelley/Toni Rudd

Click on image for caption and larger view.