Beagle Field Trials

AKC SPO National Championship April 7 & 8, 2006

Coverage provided by Beverley Saunders - The American Beagler Magazine.

The 2006 AKC Beagle Small Pack Option Championship trial was held on April 7 & 8, 2006 and hosted once again by Owensboro/Ohio County Beagle Club, 22 miles south of Owensboro, Kentucky. This nationwide, multi-federation Beagle Field Trial drew a record number of entries with 295 beagles entered in the trial. From Massachusetts to Texas, Wisconsin to Florida, and all points in between, beaglers traveled to Kentucky to run their best against the best in this prestigious event. Nestle Purina and Tri-Tronics generously offered their sponsorship, and seven American Kennel Club officials were in attendance to give their support, and to share in the crowning of this year's new SPO National Champions.

Nestle Purina also provided a wonderful banquet on Saturday evening and awarded their Outstanding Field Trial Beagle of the Year. With a record number of 64 points, the award was presented by Nestle Purina to Todd Seitz of PA, for his hound, FC Twin Maples Red. Congratulations to Todd, and congratulations to the following 2006 AKC SPO National Champions:

2006 AKC SPO National Championship Results entries starters
15" Females Owner(s) 61 61
1st - FC Goodwater Coconut Chicken James Snell    
2nd - FC Baird's Shawnee II Matthew Morrow    
3rd - FC Massac Creek Cloe Gary Brown    
4th - FC Ted's On-Line Shania Teddy Adkins    
NBQ - Russell Creek Lotta Hope Fred and Debbie Scheetz    
    entries starters
13" Females   64 64
1st - Briarworns Dream Chaser Dickie Atkinson    
2nd - Happy Valley Mandy Carl Murphy and Jerry Sensing  
3rd - Willow Run Peaches & Cream Ed and Faith Sankey    
4th - Briarcreek Baby Girl David N. Riley II    
NBQ - FC Chop A Line Sophie Edgar Burdette    
    entries starters
15" Males   79 79
1st - FC Cotton Country Jack James Eubanks    
2nd - Soggy-Bottom-Mr-Lazy Michael Moore    
3rd - K B Hillbilly Rock Gary Hanks    
4th - Hanks Backwoods Nash Michael Manning    
NBQ - FC S And D's Mr Andy Bill Emerson    
    entries starters
13" Males   91 91
1st - NSPC FC Northsides Boy Howdy Dan McGee    
2nd - FC Flat Creek Leroy Z.T. Wells and Eddie Gooch    
3rd - V-St.'s Pac-Man Larry Powell    
4th - FC Water Valley Jesse James Joe Carter and Gary Voigt    
NBQ - FC Choptalk Boldcreek Billy B Sam Butler and Keith Burgess  

Click on image for caption and larger view.

Windows Media Video Clips