Minimum Standards Approved for Pointing Breed National Championship Events

The following minimum standard for a stake to qualify as a National Championship was approved at the June 2010 AKC Delegates meeting.

Chapter 14

National Championship Events

In order to qualify as a National Champion stake, a minimum standard of competition must be achieved. The minimum standards are:

(1) There must be a minimum of thirteen (13) starters; (2) The minimum qualification to enter the stake shall be one broke dog field trial placement or a Master Hunter title; (3) At least one series of the stake must be run a minimum of forty-five (45) minutes. The AKC may periodically review and update these standards.

Parent Clubs may establish qualifications that exceed this minimum standard.

This standard will become effective January 1, 2011.

AKC Most Popular
Dog Names
Female puppy Male puppy