January 2014
News from AKC President, Dennis Sprung
Dennis and Commander

At the December 2013 Delegates meeting, I was honored to announce a new award initiative — AKC Breeders of the Year By Sport — and reveal the 2013 award recipients.

The 12 breeding programs we honored this year have excelled in producing dogs successful in a companion or performance event. The commitment to preserve, protect and improve a breed represents the very essence of the AKC and these breeders have dedicated themselves to improving the health, temperament and performance of the dogs in their sport.

I think Doug Ljungren, AKC’s VP for Sports and Events, who was part of the selection committee that chose these breeding programs, said it best: “Not only did these individuals breed dogs that excelled in their selected sport, many of the dogs earned titles in other venues. The accomplishments of these breeders represent the highest level of commitment to their breeds and sports.”

Congratulations to these breeders. We’re proud to have people so dedicated to purpose-bred dogs participating in AKC events.  Our 2013 honorees are:

  • Agility: Janice DeMello of Rochester, Washington for her Hob Nob Border Collies
  • Obedience: Yvonne Piefer of Neosho, Wisconsin for her Tanbark Golden Retrievers
  • Rally: Elaine Brent of West Salem, Ohio for her One Ash Golden Retrievers
  • Tracking: Amy & William Vose of Paw Paw, Illinois for their Ashmead German Shepherd Dogs
  • Pointing Breed Field Events: Katie & Tom Tazza of Washington Depot, Connecticut for their Up 'N Adam German Shorthaired Pointers
  • Retriever Field Events: Mary Howley of Portage, Wisconsin for her Candlewood Labradors
  • Spaniel Field Events: Gary Wilson of Cannisteo, New York for his Sunrise English Springer Spaniels ESS
  • Hound Field Events: Robert Hartman of Columbia, Pennsylvania for his Del-Hart Beagles
  • Herding: Rebecca Beckmann of Stacy, Minnesota for her Rising Sun Farm Border Collies
  • Lure Coursing: Donna & Larry Richards of Denver, North Carolina for their TNT Whippets
  • Earthdog: Harriet Haydon of Puyallup, Washington for her Sunkist Border Terriers
  • Coonhounds: Terry Vance of Corinth, Kentucky for his Vance Treeing Walker Coonhounds


Dennis Sprung
Dennis B. Sprung
President and CEO
Customer Service | Phone: 919-233-9767 | Email: info@akc.org

©2013 American Kennel Club — 8051 Arco Corporate Drive, Suite 100, Raleigh, NC 27617