May 2015 President’s Letter

Do you know a deserving fancier or dog that should be honored with an AKC Lifetime Achievement Award (LAA) or an AKC Humane Fund Award for Canine Excellence (ACE)? Both award programs are seeking nominations now, so please let us know who you think deserves to be recognized.

AKC member clubs can nominate fanciers for a Lifetime Achievement Award in the categories of Conformation, Companion Events and Performance. This year’s honorees will join the 51 LAA winners that have made a long-lasting impact on our sport, including Dr. M. Josephine Deubler, Wendell J. Sammet, Walter F. Goodman, Edd E. Bivin and Patricia Craige Trotter, among many others.

If your member club would like to suggest a candidate in one, two or all three categories, please email your club’s name, event category and nomination choices to Neil Singer at by May 29, 2015. (Current AKC Staff are not eligible, nor are past recipients.) Nominees should have made significant contributions on a national level.

After we receive the responses, we’ll send out a second email to Member clubs containing the top three names in each category for final voting, with the winners to be announced in the fall. We look forward to recognizing three more commendable individuals with Lifetime Achievement Awards.

For our deserving dogs, we’re once again seeking ACE nominations in the categories of Uniformed Service K-9, Exemplary Companion, Search and Rescue, Therapy and Service.

As we all read through the touching ACE stories every year, we’re struck once again by the overwhelming devotion our dogs show to us. It truly reminds us why we do what we do at the American Kennel Club. Read through some of the past winners’ inspiring stories in the “ACE Files,” a column that appears in every issue of AKC Family Dog magazine.

Visit the AKC Humane Fund by July 1st for a nomination form. We’ll be selecting the five canine heroes for 2015 later this summer and honoring them at the AKC/Eukanuba National Championship in Orlando this December.


Dennis B. Sprung

President and CEO