The AKC Announces 2016’s Breeder of the Year Group Honorees

The American Kennel Club is thrilled to announce breeding programs from the Sporting, Hound, Working, Terrier, Toy, Non-Sporting and Herding groups as 2016 AKC Breeder of the Year group honorees.

“We are proud to honor some of the nation’s finest breeders with this award,” said Dennis Sprung, AKC President and CEO. “The dogs that carry the honorees’ kennel names have proven their breeders’ commitment to excellence, consistency, function and type, and represent important contributions to the sport of purebred dogs.”

The group winners are:

Sporting Group
Dorothea (Dot) Vooris Simberlund, Fieldfine German Shorthaired Pointers

Hound Group
Ray and Jana Brinlee, Jaraluv Scottish Deerhounds

Working Group
Alan Kalter and Chris Lezotte, HappyLegs Bullmastiffs

Terrier Group
Joan Huber, Blythewood Miniature Schnauzers

Toy Group
Max E. Hurd, Hurd's Chihuahuas

Non-Sporting Group
Susan and Gary Carr, Salishan Tibetan Terriers

Herding Group
Terry Miller and Dominique Dube, Deja Vu/Popsakadoo Briards

A canine portraitist will be commissioned to commemorate a prominent dog from the Breeder of the Year’s kennel, and their name will be added to the perpetual trophy and plaque on permanent display at the AKC headquarters in New York City. All group recipients will receive a medallion in recognition of their achievements.

The 2016 AKC Breeder of the Year will be revealed on Friday, December 16 in Orlando, Florida at the Royal Canin “Regalia,” a royal celebration of those who champion purebred dogs, and also announced during the broadcast of the AKC National Championship presented by Royal Canin on Saturday evening, December 17, 2016.

Breeder Education Courses

Training isn't just for pets - here's your chance to learn too. Visit the AKC Breeder Education Platform designed to support your continuing education needs. Course topics include introduction to breeding, genetics, anatomy, whelping and nutrition.

Start Learning