Breeder of the Year Award


Each year, The American Kennel Club recognizes and celebrates an outstanding purebred dog breeder with the Breeder of the Year Award. The award honors those breeders who have dedicated their lives to improving the health, temperament and quality of purebred dogs. At a special presentation held during the AKC/Eukanuba National Championship show, a breeder, or pair of breeders, is recognized in each of the 7 Groups. At the conclusion of the presentation, one of the 7 Group recipients is chosen as the Breeder of the Year.

  • 2014: Gwen DeMilta and Carissa DeMilta Shimpeno
  • 2013: Winifred Stout
  • 2012: James W. Smith
  • 2011: Pluis Davern
  • 2010: Debbie Butt
  • 2009: Claudia Orlandi, Ph.D.
  • 2008: Joan Savage
  • 2007: Barbara Miller
  • 2006: Douglas and Michaelanne Johnson
  • 2005: Dave and Peggy Helming
  • 2004: Catherine B. Nelson
  • 2003: Mary Rodgers
  • 2002: Wendell J. Sammet